I’m not really someone who reads the news. I just don’t see the purpose of me getting involved with things happening far away from me when plenty of things are yearning for me close by. So, I avoid details of happenings unless I can be of some benefit to the situation. And usually, if it’s on Facebook or any other place, it can do with out my emotions or attentions because tons of people are all over it. I was about to get pulled under earlier today and then I remembered to apply what Jesus says, “Abide in me.” And that His yoke is easy and His burden is light. See, if we are abiding with Jesus He will protect our hearts and minds from unnecessary stress and worry. HE will give us the strength to do what He wants us to do. (Maybe people like to wallow in others misery so they don’t have to think about themselves?? I don’t know.)

And very often I find that He wants me to rest in His peace ~ keep doing the next thing in front of me and believe it or not to smile and count my blessings. For example, I am getting over my giant cold! And I am very glad about that! We received our Christmas cards to mail out and they look good! Our kids did their school lessons and got dressed today – since yesterday I was a nearly dead frog in the bed all day and they LOVED that freedom. Me too I guess. We all need breaks to read and be alone and have a lot of congestion. ha ha!

I hope you can find a rhythm to living in these times where we know more than we need to and yet often forget the very things that can give us life just for today.

 

Leave a comment